Medical Nobelist

Joseph Erlanger (1874-1965) was recruited to the School of Medicine in 1910 by Robert S. Brookings, as part of Brookings' charge to transform the medical school into an "excellent" institution. In 1944, Erlanger, emeritus professor of physiology anf former chairman of the physiology department, and his longtime collaborator, Herbert Spencer Gasser (former professor of pharmacology), were co-recipients of the Nobel Prize in medicine. Pioneers of neurophysiology, they were awarded the prize for their discoveries relating to the highly differentiated functions of single nerve fibres. Over the years, 17 Nobel laureates have been associated with the School of Medicine.